Career Advice

• Dear All:

Not sure whether I am posting in the right place, hopefully I am. I have been managing two small databases (few Mgs each) running on SQL server 2005. When I started I hardly new anything about SQL server besides the basic SQL quires and relational database stuff I learnt at school many years ago.

I have finished my Bachelor of Business IT 10 years a go on part time basis while working at a private college as a transport coordinator. After I finished my degree I started doing a bit of IT work at the same college (support and networking). Later on I became responsible for the SQL server which was added to our IT infrastructure.

I have been managing the databases now for almost two years. The system is very stable and there is very small interaction with users. I am just doing the usual regular backups and creating some basic reports. On the other hand I thought this might be my last opportunity to get some experience and get into the industry and do one job as DBA, then build on the experience. However each time I do research about becoming a DBA I reach a dead end and I loose my stamina. Some of the things I come across:

Learning Oracle is a must if I want get anywhere in the industry.

DBA’s are among the highest paid in the industry therefore very competitive and therefore difficult to get into

Organisation are very careful about trusting their data to someone therefore the selection criteria is very tough

Just some of the things I come across. Considering the fact I turned 40 this year, with very little experience if any in SQL server do I stand any chance?, or is it too late for me?

If not how can I speed tracks my career and where to start. Many question in my mind and looking for your generous advice.

Sam

Kind regards

• For the beginning check this http://qa.sqlservercentral.com/articles/DBA/68526/

Never say Never, Never is too late...everyday we learn new things....!

And take a look one quote here

I wish you success....!