VMWARE vs stand alone

• I have no experience with vmware performance on a production database. 

Could someone tell me why it’s better to go virtual using vmware esx on a dual processor 3.6 GHz instead of leaving it as a stand alone dedicated database server?   Why would you split up the CPU for two SQL Servers when you can take advantage of the processors for parallel execution of queries on one SQL Server? 

Upper management is leaning this way when we are migrating from an old 4 processor machine to this dual processor.  This dedicated database server will use SAN.  

Thanks in advance for your feedback!

• The reasons for going with ESX server have nothing to do with performance. In a straight up match, performance is going to take a small hit on the virtual server side (even with ESX which has a stripped down kernel and minimizes its use of physical resources).

The business reasons for going with ESX server are the following:

• Consolidation of physical servers, therefore, lower overall TCO
  • Ability to rollback changes - like a SQL Server service pack gone bad
  • Ability to move virtual servers on the fly - useful in cases where the physical hardware has an issue
  • Those are some of the reasons. None of 'em are performance based.

K. Brian Kelley
    @kbriankelley

• Thanks Brian!

What would happen to the apps(2 tier) that use pagefile on SQL Server?  I've read the virtual server only uses RAM.

• The Windows server would continue to function as you'd expect it to. In other words, if you have a pagefile set, it still reads/writes to the disk. That behavior is unchanged. Remember, a VM simulates a physical box so as far as the guest OS is concerned, it looks like the read deal.