View to combine 2 views

• Hello all,

Not sure if this is the best sub-forum to ask this, admin’s feel free to move it if not.

My background is accountancy, but I'm gradually learning about SQL (be gentle, please!), as I'm having to write a lot of Reporting Services reports. I'm coming a bit unstuck with this problem. I work for a communications company. We have 2 unrelated databases (SQL2000): one contains billing information we receive from 3rd party providers, process and bill/pass on; the other contains records for emails (like sender, recipient, size, etc.) sent by our systems. They are basically unrelated, discreet databases.

I need to find a way to match the call records from the billing table (or my view of it) to a view of the mailbox records. They have some ‘commonality’. Both views have fields for company ID and user ID. That is where it stops though. The only other means of matching the records is by date and time. The billing records contains the date and start time that the device dialled our server (it is a satellite modem). The mailbox record gives the date/time the time our server finished ‘moving’ the data.

There are occasions when the unit dials up but no data is moved, so I have a billing record but no mailbox record to match.

Best short example I can give:

BILLING RECORDS MAILBOX RECORDS

CUST USER DATETIME CUSTOMER USER DATE/TIME

ABC01 U001 01/10/2007 15:00 = ABC01 U001 01/10/2007 15:01

ABC01 U001 01/10/2007 15:10 = ABC01 U001 01/10/2007 15:12

ABC01 U001 01/10/2007 15:20 = Nothing sent

ABC01 U001 01/10/2007 15:30 = ABC01 U001 01/10/2007 15:35

Effectively, the only basis I have to match the tables is the where record in the mailbox table matches the billing record when it is the ‘nearest’ time after the billing record.

Anybody got any suggestions?

Thanks!