View Refresh Issue

• A curious problem occured again on our systems. A SQL Server 2000 system, our application was not finding the proper data. Some troubleshooting occured, and we isolated a view that was returning NULL in one column. The view was a straightforward inner join between two tables using a compound key. I started playing with the view and created a second view with the exact same code as the problem view (except for some spacing issues - I like pretty SQL). It worked. No other changes at all - not in the arrangment of columns, no hints, nothing except the removal of whitespace. This is the third time we have had a view suddenly decide to put nulls in a column, and then get fixed when the view is dropped and recreated.

Anybody have an idea?

--Matthew

• Hi Matthew

I had a similar problem recently after the datatype of a column referenced by the view had been changed. It appeared that the view knew about the change (I could see it in Query Analyser) but when I ran "SELECT * FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.COLUMNS WHERE table_name = 'viewname' " I could still see the old column datatype.

I ran sp_refreshview with the correct parameters to fix.

Hope this helps.

Greg

• Anythime you make a change to an underlying table for a view yuo should do that to force it to rebuild the dependencies right.

You sould also look in BOL at sp_recompile for a table to ensure SPs remain synced as well, especially for type changes, using * in the selections, or index changes.

• This has bit me recently as well.  I have decided that the simple solution is to stop using * and list out the columns - it makes it larger and longer to code, but you get a certain amount of control over the process, especially at change time, and you never have to run sp_refreshview to get your code to work after a schema change.  The only disadvantage is that you have to remember that you have a view attached to an underlying table if you change the table schema.

• Thank you all.