Variables in SSIS

• Morning,

I've been working on a project for the past month or so and for some reason Variables are really stumping me in SSIS! I'm relatively new to the program and any helpful info would be much appreciated.

Here is a brief explanation as to what I am trying to do in regards to variables (in sequential order):

1.) Select the Maximum ID from a SQL 2005 table and store it in an appropriately named variable MaxArticleID

2.) Once this article is stored send a request to an HTTP site with the ID tagged on the end to represent the latest batch of data from the website (its a news feeder essentially)

Now, I have no problem retrieving the data from the website and loading into SQL, that bit is all covered. The bit that is really frustrating me is the reading of the data from either SQL or a text file (i've tried both using the Script Task control component) and passing this to another script task to query the website for the data with the relevant ID to receive data.

Are variables cleared from task to task? I am finding that I can read in the MaxArticleID without a problem and even display it in a Message box without a problem. But when it actually comes to writing it to a variable it disspears.

I have tried two separate approaches to updating the variable (both in a script task):

Either

Dts.Variables("NewMaxArticleID").Value = Dts.Variables("MaxArticleID").Value

OR

Dim Vars As Variables

Dts.VariableDispenser.LockForRead("User::MaxArticleID")

Dts.VariableDispenser.LockForWrite("User::NewMaxArticleID")

Dts.VariableDispenser.GetVariables(Vars)

Vars.Item("User::NewMaxArticleID").Value = Vars.Item("User::MaxArticleID").Value

Vars.Unlock()

And neither appear to be working. What am I missing? Or is this not possible (which I find really really unlikely)

Please help as i'm beginning to tear my hair out in frustration as to why it is so blooming hard to do something so apparently easy!

If any more info is needed please say,