Using SSIS in bacthes and loops

• Hello,

First off, I'm new to using SSIS (I just started messing around with it this week). I've got something that I think can be done using SSIS, but am not quite sure how to accomplish it. I would like to say that I'm pretty good with SQL, but then again I don't do

Here's what I'm trying to do....

I've got a data warehouse that holds weekly on hand quantities for some items at some store locations. What I need to do is find out what the retail dollar amount of these on hand units by week for 2007. This part shouldn't be that difficult to do, but this next part is where I'm trying to figure out what's the best way to do it.... Let's say in weeks 1 and 2 the retail price for item 1001 is 29.95, but in week 3 the item was put on sale for 25.99, then in week 25 it was discounted even more to 20.97.

Here's the data that I currently have:

inventory table: item, original price, current price. --pretty straight forward... every item with original price, and what the current price is.

markdown table: week, item, old price, new price --The records in this table include only items that have had their price adjusted (could be up or down, mostly down though) and what week is was discounted (there will be multiple records for items that have been discounted twice).

on hand table: week, store, item, on hand qty. --This is pretty straight forward too... basically how much of an item did the store have on hand for each week.