Using parameters in a report

• I'm trying to set up a date parameter for a report that displays order information for a marketing mailer in reporting services. I am LOST. Every time I try to set up the parameters @startdate and @enddate all I get are mad errors. Please help!? I'm really new to Reporting Services.

• What errors are you getting?

• the errors tell me that I have to define the "variable", only problem is, I can define the variable and it still asks me to define the variable. I was finally able to add two report parameters, @startdate and @enddate; however, I also want to add a table name parameter for the report. This would; hopefully, allow me to set up one report and be able to use it to report statistics on multiple marketing mailers.

Set up. I have a table named mailer_item with fields: ID, mailer_table, startdate, enddate. The mailer_table data matches up with the name for a table with customer numbers of people mailed in the promotion. I use a query to match up the purchase history of the customer during the promotional period. I was finally able to make startdate and enddate user selected parameters, but I want them to be data driven and match up with the correct mailer table.

Any and all attempts at helping are greatly appreciated!

• Hi Jim!

What's you query look like?

We've been using SRS for about six months now, and have around 100 adhoc reports.

What I do is something like this:

1.  Set up the SQL on the data tab:

Select * from table where field = @Param + '%'

2.  Go to the report parameter and set it's default to 01.06

(This allows me to do a query where the first run of the report will bring back anything starting with 01.06)

• Query

Select customer.custnum,

customer_order.order_id,

customer_order.order_date,

customer_order_item.item,

customer_order_item.quanto,

(customer_order_item.quanto * customer_order_item.it_unlist) as order_total

From customer

Join customer_order

On customer.custnum = customer_order.custnum