Using a view is degrading Select performance

• Hi All,

I'm trying to troubleshoot a query in someone else's (honestly it is someone else's) database where the performance is unacceptable, when I use a view in the select statement it takes over 8 minutes to run. When I run the code in the view with the additional joins the select runs under 2 seconds

I can see from the Execution plans that when I use the view, 2 Hash Match (Right outer joins) are introduced. Are these the issue and if so how can I get rid of these.

All the join columns are included in indexes , is it a matter of updating the statistics?

I'm a developer here and I dont have a DBA unfortunately so any help would be appreciated (maybe its time to go on a course)

Let me know if anyone needs more detail.

Thanks

Will

(I have posted this query on the simple talk forums as well)

USING THE VIEW

SELECT * FROM vw_PositionPnl p

inner Join Securitydata sd on sd.Security = p.security

inner Join StrategyData sdy ON sdy.PM=p.PM and sdy.Strategy=p.Strategy

where TradeDate='12/9/09'

USING THE UNDERLYING VIEW CODE DIRECTLY PLUS THE 2 ADDITIONAL INNER JOINS

Select

p.Pos_Id,p.TradeDate,p.LoadDate,p.Fund,p.PM,p.AssetClass,p.Region,p.Strategy,p.InstClass,p.InstType,p.FXPair,p.Maturity,

IsNull(cs.Security, p.Security) Security,

p.BBTicker,p.Ccy,p.Posn,p.PnL_Tdy,p.PnL_Mtd,p.PnL_Ytd,p.ContractSize,p.SecExpiry,p.SecLastTradeDate,p.CallPut,p.ExrPrice,p.Price,p.ContractId,

p.ContractMaturity,p.Coupon,p.CommodityDesc,p.CptyRefId,p.ISIN,p.FXRate,p.PnL_Itd,p.MktValue,p.EntryPrice,p.CptyShrt,p.CntContId,p.CntCptyRefId,

p.CntPayRcvInd,p.CntRcvCcy,p.CntRcvNotnl,p.CntRcvRate,p.CntRcvFreq,p.CntPayCcy,p.CntPayNotnl,p.CntPayRate,p.CntPayFreq,p.CntStartDate,p.CntrctMatDate,

p.CntrctCptyDesc,p.CntLastReset,p.CntPayCoupDate,p.CntRcvCoupDate,p.ThemeName,p.Adjustment,p.ThemeId3,p.ThemeId4,p.ThemeId5,p.ThemeId6,p.ThemeId7,

p.ThemeId8,p.ThemeId9,p.ThemeId10,p.BasisPt,