using a view in the SQL script of a Stored Procedure

• I am not an advanced TSQL scripting person. Everything I have learned about SQL has been self taught. However, I know how to write Select Statements, Create Store Procedures with Parameters, use views and multiple views, create multiple joins, etc. I am working on a project and created a SP that uses a view after the FROM clause. I was to told that this was not best practice for SQL.

My issue is that I haven't written TSQL which includes subqueries. What is the best/fastest way for me to learn how to improve my skills in writing TSQL using subqueries.

Thanks for any feedback!!!!!

Thanks

• There are a multitude of ways to write t-sql well - classroom learning, book learning but mostly practice in my opinion.

What I don't particularly like is when people make sweeping statements like 'this way is better' without giving a good explanation (not you, whoever told you that) what I would recommend is looking up the execution plan of your sql statements, see how they perform - only then will you truly know which is the most efficient method of pulling the data.

--------------------------

I long for a job where my databases dont have any pesky users accessing them 🙂

• Whoever told you that you can't use a view in a select statement has misled you.

Jason...AKA CirqueDeSQLeil
    Learn Extended Events

• I agree with the sentiments above. You have been misled as you definitely can use views in the FROM clause of a SELECT statement. Also, you should definitely look at the execution plan of your query to determine if you should use a JOIN or SUBSELECT. Generally, JOIN performs better, but if you have a small amount of data, then it doesn't really matter.

As for the best way to learn how to improve your SQL Skills, that would be by writing more SQL. 🙂