user creation

• i'm quite new to SQL 2005. Anyone have tips on creating a user which only has access to a specific database and can only run specific sp's?

Are there any quick guides/howtos?

• so much of what you want depends on specifics...the types of logins,which procs, whether they can read form an tables or not, etc, but this might give you some ideas.

the recommended practice is to create a role with the desired permissions, and then assign users to the role...avoid giving permissions to na actual user in the db; use roles instead.

--add two logins , bob and tom

IF NOT EXISTS (SELECT * FROM MASTER.dbo.syslogins WHERE name = N'bob')

BEGIN

EXEC MASTER.dbo.sp_addlogin @loginame = N'bob', @passwd = 'NotARealPassword', @defdb = N'WHATEVER', @deflanguage = N'us_english'

--add this user to permit read and write

END

IF NOT EXISTS (SELECT * FROM MASTER.dbo.syslogins WHERE name = N'jeff')

BEGIN

EXEC MASTER.dbo.sp_addlogin @loginame = N'jeff', @passwd = 'NotARealPassword', @defdb = N'WHATEVER', @deflanguage = N'us_english'

END

Use MyDatabase

--create the role

CREATE ROLE [MyDatabaseUsers]

--add only some permissions to execute three procs....

GRANT EXECUTE On PROC1 TO [MyDatabaseUsers]

GRANT EXECUTE On PROC2 TO [MyDatabaseUsers]

GRANT EXECUTE On PROC3 TO [MyDatabaseUsers]

--add users to the database for the matching sql logins

CREATE USER [bob] FOR LOGIN [bob]

CREATE USER [jeff] FOR LOGIN [jeff]

--add the two sql logins, and an example of a windows group to the role

EXEC sp_addrolemember N'MyDatabaseUsers', N'bob'

EXEC sp_addrolemember N'MyDatabaseUsers', N'tjeff'

--EXEC sp_addrolemember N'MyDatabaseUsers', N'NT AUTHORITY\Authenticated Users'

Lowell