Use of # tables vs ## global tables when using dymanic SQL

• I am a newbie at this posting on SQL Central, so bare with me. I have been focusing more and more in strengthening my SQL skills in the last 5 years and am new at my current job. My first project assigned to me, was to take an existing stored procedure (hard coded within the whole thing) built by a non IT group and make it flexible for multiple users to gather data (like analytics) to review outcome and share with our researchers with some additional enhancements, modifications of course.

Task taken and I and a team member were assigned to this project and it worked out pretty well.

I during making coding changes and enhancements and performance tuning in this project, encountered a few learning/stumbling blocks along the way.

General Concept of Project:

We had to take and generate a baseline set of data for the end user whenever they executed the stored procedure each and every time and output to the query results window in an aggregated fashion based upon their requirements.

Concept of Dev work:

Now we used Global Temp table ## with a GUID as many, many samplers can run this stored procedure at the same time. Therefore in our thought process, this would allow our users to run concurrently without butting heads. Also utilized was the use of the 'EXEC' command on the @SQL strings we created on the fly.

(Keep in mind I do know and realize after a full code review we could use the sp_executesql command as it would use the same execution plan each and every time as it is identical each and every time vs. the EXEC.)

In a code review it was brought to our attention that we could use the SP_EXECUTESQL command along with the use of just a # table. so I have a few questions for anyone who can help me understand these.

First question: