UPDATE query

• Hi:

I'm brand new to T-SQL and upgrading an Access-based application to a SQL Server-based application and I've just run into a snag with a current step that I don't know how to do using stored procedures.

I currently update a field by running that fields' value through a custom function. The table being updated has a field (Descrip_2) which will have the data similar to that on the left, and which when updated will have the data on the right. So not all rows are being updated with the same value. They are all being updated in a similar manner, but not with the same value.

Descrip_2(Original) Descrip_2(Updated)

------------------- -------------------

None None

v4.002 for HPUX 4.002

v5.001 5.001

V6.499 for SUNOS 6.499

None None

v6.002 6.002

1.000 for Linux 1.000

But the function I created in Access VBA doesn't work with SQL Server because the funtion isn't known or available to SQL Server.

I use a function because I can't guarantee the format of the data coming in. It's a free-form data entry field from an accounting database (bills of material module), and the data coming in (an agreed upon purpose and format) is no better than the attention to detail that the individual doing the data entry gives to it. So the current function does its best to deal with common and expected errors. And I don't know all of the values that are coming in. One of the reasons we use this field is so that I can identify EXACTLY when a new software revision begins to ship and on what order they being to ship. So I don't want to do something as simplistic as Right(Descrip_1,len(Descrip_2)-1) because the 'v' character may be missing from the Descrip_2 value and that would lop off the most significant digit of the version number.

So the tasks are:

-----------------

check the first character of Descrip_2 for 'v' (case insensitive) drop it if it exists RIGHT(LEN(Descrip_2)-1)