Unable to connect to Report Server

• I am new to SQL2008. I installed the Express Edition and it runs fine. However, I am having difficulty connecting to the Reporting Services. When I go to Reporting Services Configuration Manager and enter the server name, which is: (local)\SQLEXPRESS, I get an error message stating the following: Unable to connect to the Report Server WMI Provider.

Details: The RPC Server is unavailable. Exception from HRESULT: 0x800706BA

Can someone please tell me what could be causing this problem?

Thank you

• IN IIS there is two virtual directory placed

1.Reportserver

2.reports

set the logging permission for these two.

may your work done

• Thank you for your reply.

I do not see IIS under "Administrative Tools" console. I'm running Windows XP. Would that mean IIS is not installed on my computer? But I am able to run SQL server database engine and Microsoft Visual Web Developer (ASP.net) on the same machine.

I went to my root directory and found Inetpub, but it's not in the Administrative tools area of the Control Panel.

I would appreciate any insight on resolving this problem.

Thank you

• SQLRNewbie (11/25/2009)

Thank you for your reply.

I do not see IIS under "Administrative Tools" console. I'm running Windows XP. Would that mean IIS is not installed on my computer? But I am able to run SQL server database engine and Microsoft Visual Web Developer (ASP.net) on the same machine.

I went to my root directory and found Inetpub, but it's not in the Administrative tools area of the Control Panel.

I would appreciate any insight on resolving this problem.

Thank you