Trying to learn SQL - Advice

• Hey all,

I am trying to learn how to use SQL and I have downloaded MSSQL Server 2014 Express. I am a complete beginner with little experience.

I just downloaded and installed the Adventureworks DB to practice with. Can anyone please tell me where I can find some beginners tutorials to use with this database?

I am basically looking for a launchpad here and figure out what to do next.

Thank you

• you could try reading these articles on this site

http://qa.sqlservercentral.com/stairway/75773/

• Fantastic videos on YouTube, just search "learn sql".

• fliteskates (5/29/2015)

Hey all,

I am trying to learn how to use SQL and I have downloaded MSSQL Server 2014 Express. I am a complete beginner with little experience.

I just downloaded and installed the Adventureworks DB to practice with. Can anyone please tell me where I can find some beginners tutorials to use with this database?

Thank you

What direction are you looking to go - The DBA route? SQL Developer? Both? Data warehousing, BI?

"I cant stress enough the importance of switching from a sequential files mindset to set-based thinking. After you make the switch, you can spend your time tuning and optimizing your queries instead of maintaining lengthy, poor-performing code."

-- Itzik Ben-Gan 2001

• My default answer for that question, for the last few years, has been to start by picking up a copy on "Microsoft SQL Server 2012 T-SQL Fundamentals" by Itzik Ben-Gan.

• Jason A. Long (5/30/2015)

My default answer for that question, for the last few years, has been to start by picking up a copy on "Microsoft SQL Server 2012 T-SQL Fundamentals" by Itzik Ben-Gan.

+ 1000 I learned a lot of syntax from videos, but the eureka moments and deeper fundamentals came from this book. Highly recommend it. Also keep reading the posts on here they helped a lot!

***SQL born on date Spring 2013:-)

• Hey all,

Thx for the advice. I think I am going the DBA route.