To Certify or Not to Certify

• I'm thinking hard about applying as a Database Administrator within my company. Currently I have a computer science degree and the main things I learned about databases was the design process through ER Models and the Semantic Object Model. The current group of Database Admin's don't have certfications so I wanted some personal feedback on certifications in general. Did it help in your career search? Is it recommended or is better to teach yourself? (This seems costly). Also is there a path to certification that is inexpensive? (why does education cost so much) Any tips, opinions and feedback will be greatly appreciated. (a mentor would be even better) I would like to know the ends and outs so if anyone has any suggested books, please advise.

Thanks,

James

• First, to understand the value of certification in a job search, it helps to see the perspective of the hiring manager.  If the manager gets 25 resumes for the job, he has to make the cut to decide which applicants will get the interview.  If he is comparing two equally qualified applicants, the one who is certified is more likely to be put in the "interview" pile.  However, if there are several applicants who have more experience than the certified person, then he may not make the cut to be interviewed.  I think this is the only "career value" of MCDBA certification.

Second, there is a personal value to certification if you want to better yourself and widen your horizons.  There are a lot of features in the SQL Server product that you will need to learn about during the certification process.  It can be interesting or boring depending on your passion for technology and databases.  If you think it will be boring, then you will need the interaction of training classes and outside help.  If you think it will be interesting then you can read the books, setup your home lab and save a lot of money.  It can be done through self-study, but it's not easy.