The General Database Platform

• I realize that I'm getting obsolete regarding selecting tools, but my gut feel is that I would try to stay away from specialized platforms if it is at all possible.  I would want to be sure that there is not a way to implement what is needed without resorting to specialized tools.  Specialization potentially loses generally needed features and capabilities, and could lead to the introduction of design issues in other areas.  I would also venture a guess that specialized tools may tend to be more expensive, have a shorter life span and be more difficult to maintain.

Admittedly I have little to no experience with selecting and using such tools, but in 42 years of IT work I don't recall ever finding a 'you can't get there from here' situation.  Then there is always the consideration that committing to specialized tools can also mean committing to specialized personnel to support them.

And then sometimes maybe we really need to sit back, relax, and question 'Do we really need to do this?'

Rick

One of the best days of my IT career was the day I told my boss if the problem was so simple he should go fix it himself.

• I think it's more a "is there a better way to do this?" question.

Do you use a screwdriver, a Philips bit in a drill or an impact driver? Yes, depending on what/where. In databases, same thing. Would I implement full-text search in SQL Server? Unlikely. Can I? Yes, but Elasticsearch or Lucerne work much better. I'd deal with a slightly "eventual consistent" movement of limited data.

Same for other some other problem domains. High speed caching for session stuff I want in a db. Not SQL Server. It doesn't quite scale at high levels. Easier to use CosmosDB or Redis for this stuff and persist back the longer term values in SQL Server when ready.

• "Do you use a screwdriver, a Philips bit in a drill or an impact driver? Yes, depending on what/where. "