Testing restore...

• I'm a relative newbie here with SQL Server administratioin tasks. I have all different versions

of SQL Server - 2000, 2005, 2008 and 2008 R2, from standard edition to enterprise. My primary

focus right now is to make sure all the full and transaction log backup jobs are working properly.

Well that is just about complete.

What I want to do now is test the restore - to make sure what I have actually works.

My thinking was to copy the databases from their production server to another test box. Create a

backup job on the test server and run it against the new database. While it would be worthwhile

to test the databases where they are - alot of them are 24 x 7.

So my question - is this the best way to go? Or would there be a better method to employ.

Comments / URLs are welcome...

• Yeah, you can't test this against production systems. Good first choice.

After that, just take the backups that are already running in production and test them in a restore against a different environment. No need to take a different backup of the database. In fact, that'll just test that backup. Test the ones from production.

----------------------------------------------------The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood... Theodore RooseveltThe Scary DBAAuthor of: SQL Server 2017 Query Performance Tuning, 5th Edition and SQL Server Execution Plans, 3rd EditionProduct Evangelist for Red Gate Software

• That is a way to test if your backups work.

Keep in mind, you cannot restore a higher version backup to a lower version instance !

Also keep in mind, if you didn't migrate the SQLusers including their SID, you may have to run fixing scripts on the restored database to map the sids in the database to the actual instance sid, based on:

- SQL2000 : exec sp_change_users_login @Action = 'Update_One',@UserNamePattern = ' + @username + ', @LoginName = ' + @username + '