Structure of SQL Server

• Hi every one,

Thanks for your great support and contribution to this forum.

My client want me to check the structure of the SQL Server. So where should i start . Does any one have any idea on this. i am new to all these topics.

• I'm afraid you will need to be a little more specific about what you want to know, as its a very broad subject and can cover a multitude of areas from Data Storage Internals, the Query plan Internals.

• m.rajesh.uk (1/30/2013)

My client want me to check the structure of the SQL Server.

Pretty generic question. Here two things can be done.

First and preferred, Ask him what exactly he needs ?

Second which need some extra efforts and detailed study,

Represent him high level database architecture.

What are databases . what kind of data they contain?

better show him any logical flow of data.

And

HOw you arwe managin the data backup , maintenance plan (non-app specific) how the data has been distributed ? , recovery plan. securities etc etc

but better go with first one

-------Bhuvnesh----------
    I work only to learn Sql Server...though my company pays me for getting their stuff done;-)

• Do you mean validate the data structure of a SQL Server database?

Or do you mean validate the layout of a SQL Server installation?

Or do you mean evaluate SQL Server as a general tool in order to determine if it means some business need or other?

Specifics are needed.

----------------------------------------------------The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood... Theodore RooseveltThe Scary DBAAuthor of: SQL Server 2017 Query Performance Tuning, 5th Edition and SQL Server Execution Plans, 3rd EditionProduct Evangelist for Red Gate Software

• Want to validate the data structure of a SQL Server database

Thank you