SSIS package templates - question on how they work

• Hi all, I'm new to SSIS. I've only previously used DTS (2000). I have a question (or two) about templates and was hoping one/some of the more experienced SSISers out there could throw me some answers:

Maybe I'm missing the point here but, if I develop a standard package template (connections & variables), and then I develop a dozen packages based on that template, what happens if I suddenly discover that I need an extra variable in all my packages? I thought I could add it to my template and that would (somehow?!) ripple through to the dozen packages based on my template, but that doesn't seem to be the case. Am I doing something wrong? Am I misinterpreting some functionality of templates? Or have I just discovered the "ugly" side of templates?

Cheers,

Pete

• petehughes247 (5/19/2010)

Maybe I'm missing the point here but, if I develop a standard package template (connections & variables), and then I develop a dozen packages based on that template, what happens if I suddenly discover that I need an extra variable in all my packages? I thought I could add it to my template and that would (somehow?!) ripple through to the dozen packages based on my template, but that doesn't seem to be the case. Am I doing something wrong? Am I misinterpreting some functionality of templates? Or have I just discovered the "ugly" side of templates?

The template is only used in the initial creation of an object, there are no lingering strings. What that means is that if you add a variable it will only exist moving forward on new packages you create from the template.

As far as ugly side, I don't know of many tools that support templates that do what you are asking, there is jsut too much that could change to build that kind of functionality in.