SQL server table encryption

• Hello All,

I'm new to database encryption. Is there a way to achieve table level encryption in SQL server 2008 R2? Any inputs on this will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

• column level encryption is what you are asking about., not table level. each individual field in a row would be encrypted.

effectively each column that specifically needs to be protected would change it's datatype from whatever it is now to varbinary(max), and encryption decryption would be used to select / update the data on a per column basis

so a table that was like this:

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[Patient] (

[PatientID] BIGINT IDENTITY(1,1) NOT NULL,

[HospitalAccountNumber] NARCHAR(50) NULL,

[FirstName] VARCHAR(50) NULL,

[LastName] VARCHAR(50 NULL,

[MiddleName] VARCHAR(50 NULL)

[HospitalAccountNumber] VARCHAR(50) NULL,

[FirstName] VARBINARY(max) NULL,

[LastName] VARBINARY(max) NULL,

[MiddleName] VARBINARY(max) NULL)

--i might insert with this?

select EncryptByCert(Cert_ID('MyDataSecurityCertificate'), CONVERT(VARCHAR(50),@FirstName)) AS FirstName

--i might decrypt like this

SELECT Cast(DecryptByCert(Cert_ID('MyDataSecurityCertificate'), P.FirstName) AS VARCHAR(50)) AS FirstName, FROM Patient

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!

• Lowell (2/18/2015)

column level encryption is what you are asking about., not table level. each individual field in a row would be encrypted.

effectively each column that specifically needs to be protected would change it's datatype from whatever it is now to varbinary(max), and encryption decryption would be used to select / update the data on a per column basis