SQL SERVER + SSD

• I'm new to sql server. ..We have an issue with accessing and updating large database which is about 30tb(we get this data from 3rd party). We have about 20 developers who work on site and when they access the data .. retrieval time is very slow, sometime when they update many records. . Server is shutting down.

I understand we have Some options (please let me know of more options if any.. I'm sure there should be more options)

1) table partitioning

2) File Groups

2) putting SSD drive

They are already on SSD.

But still they have same issue.

Could anyone please help me with the options to handle this situation better. OR Share me there setup diagram of SSD drive (which will help me to revisit our architecture)

Any help is really appreciated.

• Bunny786 (1/22/2015)

I'm new to sql server. ..We have an issue with accessing and updating large database which is about 30tb(we get this data from 3rd party). We have about 20 developers who work on site and when they access the data .. retrieval time is very slow, sometime when they update many records. . Server is shutting down.

I understand we have Some options (please let me know of more options if any.. I'm sure there should be more options)

1) table partitioning

2) File Groups

2) putting SSD drive

They are already on SSD.

But still they have same issue.

Could anyone please help me with the options to handle this situation better. OR Share me there setup diagram of SSD drive (which will help me to revisit our architecture)

Any help is really appreciated.

Hi, you mentioned some serious problems, but didn't really give enough details to give any kind of proper response.

As I understand it, you have several problems.

1. some serious problems with slowness on queries for a very large database

I know you specifically asked about SSD, and they can help IF your problem is strictly an I/O issue. There's a decent article about using them here: