SQL Server no downtime database changes

• Guy's,

I need some help, a huge potential client is currently evaulating our product with intentions of buying it. This is a multi-million $ contract. Very big for our business. the client is a well known software company out of Washington. It's owner is very famous and VERY VERY VERY rich.

But they are unhappy with something. We currently have 2 offline maintenance windows blocked off - Wednesday night from 9p-mid and Saturday night 8p-mid. these are the default times to bring the app off line, but we don't perform these offline activiies every week. i would say a few times a month the app is offline due to maintenance. In these windows we perform many changes, but since I'm a DBA, I'm concerned with DB changes. Schema changes, Data move, upgrades, etc.

Now this client doe snot want ANY maintenance windows. They are asking for these changes to be made online, without any offline window.

Our current environment - SQL Server 2008 R2, Clustered, 1TB datasbase. We use Red Gate SQL Compare to make schema changes in production.

I'm not sure this can be done. i was thinking maybe some kind of farm, where we have 4 servers that house an identical database. The app would have to write to all 4 servers in order to keep the data insync. We could bring 1 offline, make the changes, bring it online, point the app here, take the others offline, makes changes here, add them back to the farm?????

I don't know. Seems like I'd lose data along the way.

Any simple solutions I'm overlooking??

• No you're pretty much on the nose. No downtime really means no "user aware" downtime.

Assuming you are spreading the load accross servers, start the maintenance on the slowest time of day with 1-2 server and redirect to those servers once done.

There's also another option to reload all data live in a temp table, then once the load is done, rename both old and new tables to make the switch "instant".