SQL Server 2005 and VLDBs

• Hi everyone -

I would like to know about key things a DBA should know in working with Very Large Data Bases. Please be as detail and specific as possible. Some things that I can think about pertain to backup/restore (files and filegroups), vendor backup software, compression, partitioning, performance related issues. I am a mid level DBA and don't have the depth in working with VLDBs.

Thanks very much.

sheppc1214.

• The question you asked is very generic and open ended. As per my opinion, resource (Memory, CPU utilization, space etc) manangement is the biggest challenge when you manage VLDBs.

Ofcourse business continuity plan is again an area which you should give ample attention.

• Ok, to be more specific, I'll take backing up VLDBs. If my database is 1TB, how do I perform backup with files/filegroups?

Thanks,

sheppc1214

• sheppc1214 (6/7/2009)

Ok, to be more specific, I'll take backing up VLDBs. If my database is 1TB, how do I perform backup with files/filegroups?

Thanks,

sheppc1214

I haven't had to deal with a database of that size, yet, so haven't looked at filegroup backups and restores at this time. But, if I found myself there I would start by reading Books Online (BOL), the SQL Server Help System. You can access it by pressing the {F1} function key while in SQL Server Management Studio (SSMS). It does provide a fairly good overview of the processes involved. Once you have read that, and you still have questions, here is the place to come.

I'm sure others may have other sources of information on this and will be more than happy to provide them to you.

• sheppc1214 (6/7/2009)

Ok, to be more specific, I'll take backing up VLDBs. If my database is 1TB, how do I perform backup with files/filegroups?

Thanks,

sheppc1214

I haven't meet that large database, maybe you can separate some stable data into another database. can we know what make your database so large?