SQL not starting

• my SQL 2K services are not starting. I am a complete novice and I need to get my database up .. please help.

"The grass is always greener over the septic tank." ~Leaf

• Are they set to Automatically start? Or do you have to manually start them? (Right click on My Computer, select Manage, look for Services, find the MSSQLSERVER Service and the SQLSERVERAGENT service. Right click on them and see how they are set to start.)

What account are the services set to run as?

-SQLBill

• they are set for automatic. I tried to reboot and they wont start I also tried to start them manually and that doesn't work. What do you mean by "What account are the services set to run as?"

"The grass is always greener over the septic tank." ~Leaf

• SQLBill is talking about the logon user of the service that you can see in the properties of the mssqlserver service.

Does the eventlogs show an error?

And the sqlserver error log? You can find the last in the sqlserver mssql\log directory, probably C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\LOG

• Check the startup account has enough privileges or change the account with known id. If it doesn’t work try to start with the single user mode from the command prompt

Shas3

• Login as Administrator and then try starting the services or if the Services are set to auto start then check what happens. This happens when the Authentication is mixed i suppose, not sure.

• Try starting the server from the command line. This will often give you errors that you don't see otherwise.