SP_UPDATESTATS

• Hello,

I'm going to start this out with the fact that we don't have a proper SQL Server DBA on site. I've got a few years of experience administrating but nothing when it comes to some of the heavier troubleshooting requirements.

We've been having some issues with our ERP database basically the system is crashing when users are working with a couple tables and queries taking forever to return. It's taken months for the vendor support to get back to us with a solution. What they found was that running SP_UPDATESTATS resolves issue. We tested it on one of our development system with the queries at least I'm still testing the other issue.

I'm not one to run things blind and researched it be for we ran it. Now I'm aware that we should have been monitoring our statistics and based on the recommendations we should only run it for single tables instead of the whole database.

There are some articles that advise against running this procedure during normal times to prevent having an impact on production activities. Can anyone tell me how much truth there is to that statement?

Also if there's any suggestions on better ways to maintain and update the statistics I'd really appreciate it.

• I wouldn't recommend running that during peak time. To be honest, I wouldn't recommend running that specific stored proc either, there are better ways to update stats (the explicit UPDATE STATISTICS ... gives you control over sampling and which tables get their stats updated, whereas updatestats doesn't)

The larger problem here is that the vendor has likely identified a fix for the symptoms, not the root problem if they're recommending running that any time you see the problem, painkiller for a broken arm if you will.

Do you have budget to get a SQL consultant in to do some performance tuning?

As for general stats maintenance, I like Ola Hallengren's index and stats maintenance. https://ola.hallengren.com/

Gail Shaw