Setup question - SQL Server 2008 hosting on a shared network, or dedicated server?

• Okay, I've spent the last couple of days pouring over SQL Server information. I'm new to it, having primarily worked with Access on a shared network (NAS).

I'm attempting to setup a SQL Server on a separate shared network as well, but having difficulties. I installed SQL Server 2008 onto my computer, but of course the database is setup on my computer. Even though I've been able to detach, move the database files to the shared network, and attach, of course when I shut down my computer the SQL server is down as well and inaccessible for other users. I only imagine that no more than 10 users would be accessing this database at any one time, and normally it would only be up to two.

So what are my options? I've thought about installing Windows Server 2003 and SQL Server onto my laptop, but I'm not entirely sure how to go about setting that up and my laptop is pretty horrible with only 1G of RAM and 1.8ghz processor. Is there a way to set the SQL Server up onto a network share so that even when my computer is off, the SQL Database can still be accessed? Or, while I'm still learning and unwilling to spend the money for an actual dedicated server or whatnot, would my best route be to use the laptop?

I've muddled through and gleaned a lot of information, but it's hard to find answers to the questions I have, or at least answers I can completely understand.

Thanks for any and all help you can provide!

• I would say you will need a dedicated box because SQL installs multiple services on the OS that would have to be installed by SQL Server for it to function. You can use your laptop for testing but like you said no one will be able to get to it when you shut your computer down.

• That's what I figured. Nice and simple answer. Thank you very much!

• Access to SQL Server is via connection to the SQL Server service, not a network share.