SELECT INTO .... ? from one db to another on the same server

• I already have a script...several actually that pull information for reporting purposes. If I create a db, how do I put the results into that db and the columns keep the same data types?

I thought about doing a SELECT INTO but the example in books online is less than desirable. I've searched around and I'm not finding the same example (or even a combination of examples) that gives me any sort of help.

Is SELECT INTO the way to do this?

I was trying to figure out how to do this with an absolutely blank db I created called cicp and the Northwind db. I know that the following code doesn't do anything with copying the same data type (I don't know how to copy data types). I'm a newbie so go easy on me.

create table cicp.dbo.NewShippers (Phone NVARCHAR PRIMARY KEY)

SELECT Northwind.dbo.Shippers.Phone

INTO cicp.dbo.NewShippers

FROM Northwind.dbo.Shippers,

cicp.dbo.NewShippers

Do I have to manually look up the table properties information to create the same data types for each column or is there an easier way than what I did?

Before I run the above code I make sure there isn't a table named NewShippers in the cicp db but I'm getting the following error...

Server: Msg 2714, Level 16, State 6, Line 3

There is already an object named 'NewShippers' in the database.

Any suggestions?

T.I.A.

• Select into isn't the correct way to insert data if you are going to manually create the table. So in your example either create the table using the first statement then do an 'insert into' or use the 'select into' to automatically create and populate the table.

Cheers,

Ben Sullins
    bensullins.com
    Beer is my primary key...