Search for one string inside another.

• Hi all.

I am VERY new to SQL and the little I think I know is self taught. I have a task to search for a string within a string but I'm not getting it.

I work for a UK council. We have a database with graffiti tags and I need to be able to search for one tag within a string of others. The database is created by an external company on a SQL server (unknown version) and sent to us. Here I look at it in Mapinfo Pro 9.5. Don't ask why, I just do!

In the database I have a field called Tag. It is made of 60 characters. These are some imaginary completed fields:

1. TOM FRED ABC

2. AB

3. SILLY STRING

4. ABSOLUTE

5. QUIRK FRED JOHN IAM JOHN

6. TOM AB

7. AB IAM

I need to search for instances of a string within the strings above. Example, search for the tag "AB". This should bring up rows 2,6 and 7, not row 1 where AB is a part of ABC.

In Mapinfo Pro I can search using a box titled SQL Select. In this box I can choose the table to examine etc, and add an SQL condition. This is where I need help.

I have been trying conditions such as:

Tag like "AB"

...but This only picks up a row where AB is alone, row 2 in the example above.

Tag like "AB%"

...this shows lines where AB is the start as well as the only word, rows 2 and 7 above.

So, can anyone point me to a tutorial, guide or whatever that will explain how to put conditions together to get what I want please? Or maybe even show me here? I know this is bread and butter stuff for you, but it's new to me.

Thanks in advance.

Mike.

• i believe you might be looking for the behavior of a full text index.

With a full text index, you can do WHERE CONTAINS(columnname,'AB'), and it only does "whole word" matching, and if it a word, would do variations of the word, like CONTAINS(columnname,'market') would find the whole words marketer,marketing,markets, and not partial latches.

adding the fulltext index is easy, and would do what you want.

Lowell