Replication Problem - Need Help Please

• Hi

I am a newbie to this replication world. I am having a weired problem. I am definitely not doing something right... Just can figure out whats wrong...

I have two different database on two different servers. These databases were created from the same development machine (just copied on to those separate servers).

DB 1 was in production for 3 months and loaded with 1.3 GB of data.

DB 2 is in production for last 10 days.

What I want to do is merge the data from DB 1 and DB 2. Both the database should have exact same data after replication.

I am following all the default wizard settings to setup a merge replication from the server where DB 1 resides. After the initial snapshot the SQL MMC shows that the databases are in sync. But when I open the database DB 2 -- all the data which were entered before (10 days of work as I mentioned before) are gone. It did replicate all the data from DB 1 but no information on its own 10 days work data... Same goes to DB 1, it has all the info it had before but no data for DB 2 (10 days data).

Gurus, please help I need to merge these two database so that they have the exact same data. What am I doing wrong?

Thanks in advance

Faruk

• Unfortunately replication won't do this for you as far as I know.  Replication works a treat if you have one initial source database, which is then replicated to other machine(s).  From then on, the other machines can send their changes back and receive changes from the main database.

In your situation, you have two separate and distinct databases that you wish to merge both ways.  I think I have used a tool called SQLDiff in the past from ApexSQL (I might be wrong here - just from memory!).  Goto google and do a search.