replace credit card numbers with *

• Hi

I have been asked to write a script which shows the first 12 numbers of the credit card as * some of the details in the table dont arent all credit cards so if the ccv number is null on the table it doesnt need to be changed can anyone help me fast???

PLEASE! thanks for reading!

• Convert the number into a character data type (if it is not already) and use the STUFF function to replace the first n characters with asterisks. Please try this and post back if there's anything in particualr that you don't understand. It will help us to understand your problem if you post table DDL and sample data in the form of INSERT statements.

John

• Hi there thanks for your reply but i have never written a script before so i dont understand at all. Its SQL on Java too so i have even less of an idea how to write the script? My boss wants to check it first too any help would be appreciated

• I think you need to hire a consultant, in that case.

John

• Something like this

select stuff('5490 1234 5678 9128',1,12,'************')

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I am just an another naive wannabe DBA trying to learn SQL Server

• Thanks very much! If i use that script can i get it to amend all the card details in the table without having to put in the card numbers? Sorry to be so stupid!

• Expanding on what has already been provided:

-- test table with data

DECLARE @test-2 TABLE (CCNumber varchar(16), CCV varchar(4) NULL);

INSERT INTO @test-2

SELECT '1234567890123456', NULL UNION ALL -- don't update this row

SELECT '4123456789012345', '111' UNION ALL

SELECT '5987654321098765', '999';

SELECT *

FROM @test-2;

UPDATE @test-2

SET CCNumber = stuff(CCNumber, 1, 12, replicate('*',12))

WHERE CCV IS NOT NULL;

SELECT *

FROM @test-2;

Wayne
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server 2008
    Author - SQL Server T-SQL Recipes