Read flat file but ignore everything in filename after character plus insert date into SQL Server table

• I am fairly new to SSIS but not to SQL Server. Here are the conditions of the flat files:

1) there will only be one flat file (.csv) per destination table in a designated directory at a time

2) the directory path will always be the same

3) there will be multiple flat files but each is input for its own table in SQL Server

4) The part of the flat file that varies comes after an underscore character in the filename. It is the first underscore of two in the filename

5) Here are two files and their destination tables for an example:

ProdSmallCellCarcinoma_10-29-2015_PCP.csv

ProdSquamousCellCarcinoma_10-29-2015_PCP.csv

each of these to be imported into tables named SmallCellCarcinoma and SquamousCellCarcinoma, respectively.

I would like to get the flat file connector to just look at the part of the string before the first _ so I don't have to hard code the exact file name each time.

I would also like to store the date part of the filename in a sql server column and stop before the _PCP part.

I don't need to loop through files in a directory because I have a separate flat file connection for each file type and there is only one file of each type in the directory each month.

I do have the hard-coded filename version working to import the data out now I need to take the next step.

Thanks in advance.

• pharmkittie (11/3/2015)

I am fairly new to SSIS but not to SQL Server. Here are the conditions of the flat files:

1) there will only be one flat file (.csv) per destination table in a designated directory at a time

2) the directory path will always be the same

3) there will be multiple flat files but each is input for its own table in SQL Server

4) The part of the flat file that varies comes after an underscore character in the filename. It is the first underscore of two in the filename

5) Here are two files and their destination tables for an example: