question re: DBA skills for SQL 2000 vs. SQL 2005

• Hi All,

I'm looking for advice concerning training.  I'm a developer in a small IT shop and I've recently volunteered to wear the DBA hat (we don't have a full-time DBA position).  I'm comfortable with DB design, TSQL, stored procedures, etc. but I don't know much about routine maintenance, performance monitoring/tuning etc.

We're currently on SQL Server 2000, but we plan to upgrade to SQL 2005 in the mid/near future (maybe 6 mos).  I'd like to know how SQL 2000 DBA skills translate to SQL 2005.  Specifically, I have the opportunity to take a 5-day SQL Server 2000 Admin course in the next couple weeks; it looks like it will at least get me started in the areas where I'm weak.  But I'm wondering how much of it will translate to Yukon (i.e. am I wasting my money on SQL 2000 training?).  Should I study SQL 2000 to meet my short-term goals, and then upgrade my skill-set when the time comes?  Or should I start by studying SQL 2005 and just wing it with SQL 2000?

Many Thanks,

MIJ

• My 2 Cents.....

Both would work for you.  

Taking just one administration class, will leave you with minor gaps, as the majority of the concepts like backups and recovery are the same.  

2005 adds some new features like point in time backing up....very cool, but the other stuff is still very similar. 

If I had to choose one......2005, as the new features will be somthing to work for and your skills will be current in a few months when you do upgrade. 

Eric 

• Microsoft's site has bunch of webcast for sql 2005. you might want to check those out.