Problems With Transactional Replication

• Hi all,

I'm no expert on replication, I just kind of fudge my way through it, so forgive me if some of this sounds fractured, out of whack, or missing info.

Here's the setup: I'm using transactional replication between 2 SQL2K servers Standard Edition, SP3a) connected over a 256k ISDN line. The publishing server is in Canada, the subscriber is in the US. The ISDN line is not used exclusively for this replication process. The publication contains 3 articles using a push subscription to shoot over 3 indexed views as tables on the subscriber. The process is scheduled to run M-F, between 8 AM and 5 PM.

Here's my issue: every 2 days or so I see a general network error crop up that causes replication to stop. I set the distribution agent to retry over the course of 2 hours or so. I chalked this up to network hiccups or someone on the subscribing server messing about (we don't have direct control over that server), and the retries seem to work for the most part. Sometimes when the retry limit is reached, I get a call and have to manually restart the distribution agent and things eventually synch up. Up to this point, I'm not really concerned cuz the network problems are out of my immediate sphere of influence, so whaddya gonna do?

However, every couple of weeks or so when I attempt to manually restart the distribution agent, nothing happens. The agent stays in it's stopped state, starting it doesn't work, I can't even reinitialize the subscription. After trying to restart everything unsuccessfully for 20 minutes or so, I resort to zapping the publication and the subscription entirely, create a new publication and subscription, apply the initial snapshot, and set up the distribution agent again, etc.

Network problems are network problems, but I don't understand why SQL Server is undergoing a cranial vapour lock over this. Has anyone experienced anything similar? Would running a SQL trace reveal anything?