Practice identifying results from dml queries

• hi

I am studying for 70-762 exam and am looking to practice Identifying results of some really good, complex practice queries.   Any good sites for this (besides the official practice exams)?

thank you kindly,

J

• dbgaragedays wrote:

hi

I am studying for 70-762 exam and am looking to practice Identifying results of some really good, complex practice queries.   Any good sites for this (besides the official practice exams)?

thank you kindly,

J

What do you mean by "identifying results", exactly? Do you mean being able to describe what the query is doing, or something else?

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• You could download adventureworks database and just write some complex queries against that?

But it depends on what you consider complex.  I have some stored procedures at my workplace that are over 6000 lines long.  Mind you, it is a lot of short and easy queries.  Some of the ones on this forum are fun examples though of complex queries.

But complex to some may be simple to others.  XML parsing is a common one that is difficult to do for most, but for some people, XML parsing is trivial.

The QOTD's are also a good place to look at.  And there are always the few trick questions like:

DECLARE @tmp TABLE
    (
    [ID] INT
    , [value] VARCHAR(25)
    );
    INSERT INTO @tmp
    VALUES
    (
    , 'hello'
    )
    , (
    , NULL
    )
    , (
    , 'world'
    );

SELECT
    [ID]
    , [value]
    FROM@tmp
    WHERE[value] NOT IN (
    NULL
    );

The above is all just my opinion on what you should do. 
    As with all advice you find on a random internet forum - you shouldn't blindly follow it.  Always test on a test server to see if there is negative side effects before making changes to live!