Performance Problem

• Hi,

In one of our servers all inserts in all databases takes too much time (almost application hangs). As I'm new in DBA field, please let me know what details you need to recognize the problem.

Maybe helpful to add that SQLTRACE_BUFFER_FLUSH takes 99.9% waiting

Thanks

• HI,

Can you give some more information related to your server including the hardware configuration, sql server version and service pack, no of databases along with the sizes, no of users etc.

Rohit

• Sure 🙂

hardware configuration: Win Server 2003 and I don't know more cause I don't have enough permission to get access to it

sql server version: SQL 2005 Enterprise Edition and SP1

no of databases: 4 DBs with almost 13GB each and 8 DBs with less than 100MB each

Everyday, around 100 DB update are performed on each DB scheme.

Besides, each DB has around 8 users. No DB mirroring or shipping log is defined; only auto shrink is true and an automatic backup at midnight when nothing is done on servers is performed.

• The first 3 things I'd do is...

1. Update to sp2 and apply the latest cumulitive update (#7, I believe).

2. Turn off autoshrink. If it keeps growing, it's because it needs to. Set it to a reasonable size and leave it alone. Everytime it grows, it frags your database and, possibly, the underlying file on the operating system. Set it, degrag the DB, and get the boys in OPS to defrag the hard disk. Don't ever use a percentage growth... set it to some reasonable fixed value.

3. Same thing with TempDB... set it to something large on boot up. We have a tera-byte database and we set TempDB to 12 gig. It takes 73 fragments using the defaults of 10% growth and 1 meg starting size just to grow to 1 Gig. Avoid that and set TempDB to be a couple of gig on bootup.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code: