Peer-to-peer replication questions

• Hi everyone,

We are at the beginning phase of designing a solution for the following setup:

1. We have 3 servers, one in-house, two in the cloud.

2. We need to replicate some tables from the in-house server to the cloud servers.

3. All servers will have to be able to read/write to the tables and share the changes with each other.

Based on the requirements, it looks like peer-to-peer replication is the solution for us. I have some questions though, as I don't have any experience with replication:

1. Is it possible to replicate some objects instead of the whole database in peer-to-peer replication?

2. Considering that there will be 3 servers that will all have to share changes with each other, would you consider this a difficult design to set up and maintain?

3. How good is the SQL 2012 conflict detection? I'm worried about a lot of conflicts and problems as a result of that.

Thanks in advance!

• Hi shahgols, 😀

I'm not an expert on Replication, but i'll try to give you an answer :

1) Yes, you can replicate some objects.

2) Not sure how to respond to this as i never had to setup this kind of scenario.

3) I think you need to setup merge replication between your servers, instead of peer to peer replication, in order to resolve possible conflicts.

Hope it helps. 😎

Jonathan Bernardez Bernardez

• Thank you Jonathan!

Would love to hear back from someone who has experience with peer-to-peer. Thanks.

• We currently use P2P replication betwen two AWS availability zones. We also use normal transactional replication to scale out within each AZ to provide enough power to meet our read workload. (Think of each P2P node as the hub of a wheel and P2P replication as the axle joining the wheels, then think of the spokes on each wheel being our scale-out replication.)