Parallel query execution from linked servers

• I am a developer (not DBA) for a company, and have inherited the following scenario: A database was created on a Virtual Machine. The VM was then cloned twice, and sent to other geographic locations. I have another SQL Server 2008 R2 server where I have linked servers set up to the other 3 (we'll call them SRV_A, SRV_B, and SRV_C). I have a parameterized query that runs against all 3 servers, does some other calculations (beyond the scope of this discussion), and combines the output. To achieve this, I create a table-type variable, and insert the results of each of the three queries into it. A grotesquely oversimplified example looks like this:

DECLARE @Table TABLE (...);

PRINT CAST(GETDATE() AS VARCHAR) + ': Getting SVR_A data...';

INSERT INTO @Table

SELECT * FROM SRV_A.DB.dbo.Tbl;

PRINT CAST(GETDATE() AS VARCHAR) + ': Getting SVR_B data...';

INSERT INTO @Table

SELECT * FROM SRV_B.DB.dbo.Tbl;

PRINT CAST(GETDATE() AS VARCHAR) + ': Getting SVR_C data...';

INSERT INTO @Table

SELECT * FROM SRV_C.DB.dbo.Tbl;

SELECT * FROM @Table;

It works fine (but really slow), but based on the output of the PRINT statements, SRV_B waits for SRV_A to finish before it starts, and SRV_C waits for SVR_B.

MY QUESTION: Is there any way to get these queries, coming from 3 different linked servers, to execute in parallel? I've searched online, and found vague references to a MAXDOP query hint, but no examples of how it works or if it applies to this particular situation.

By the way, before proposing alternatives such as converting to things like replication or mirroring, it won't work for reasons more political than technological; again, I'm a developer, not a DBA, and don't have the authority for such actions. So, distributed queries is the way I have to go.

Thank you!

• Not directly, at least not easily.