Newbie Guides?

• I've literally just started using SSIS yesterday. This morning I managed to create a data flow (table - fuzzy lookup - table) which seemed to work ok, however, I don't really understand what I'm doing fully.

Can anyone point me in the direction of some good guides for SSIS, also, how does SSIS integrate with T-SQL?

I currently do something in T-SQL which essentially performs a series of updates and deletes on a table. As an example how can I introduce this as an intermediate stage between OLE DB source and Fuzzy Lookup?

I'm not new to T-SQL, but I am new to SSIS - so, I guess I'm looking for a way to simply get some benefits from SSIS and see how it can be used with existing T-SQL knowledge, if at all!

• Professional "SQL Server 2005 Integration Services" is a good book from WROX to start with.

You can do your updates and deletes prior to the Fuzzy Lookup Data Flow on the Control Flow with Execute SQL Tasks.

Think of the ssis Data Flow as the Pipes that used to connect Sources and Destinations in DTS (if you ever used DTS).

bc

[font="Arial Narrow"]bc[/font]

• In addition to the books i would also recomend to check out the below article.

http://www.databasejournal.com/article.php/1503191

• bc (3/31/2009)

Professional "SQL Server 2005 Integration Services" is a good book from WROX to start with.

You can do your updates and deletes prior to the Fuzzy Lookup Data Flow on the Control Flow with Execute SQL Tasks.

Think of the ssis Data Flow as the Pipes that used to connect Sources and Destinations in DTS (if you ever used DTS).

bc

This is a greate book, but, my advice would be to get 2008 version because there has been few changes in SSIS, but the later version of the book has less errors in it as far as I can tell.

[font="Times New Roman"]-- RBarryYoung[/font], [font="Times New Roman"] (302)375-0451[/font] blog: MovingSQL.com, Twitter: @RBarryYoung[font="Arial Black"]
    Proactive Performance Solutions, Inc.
    [/font]