Need the output in excel

• Hi,

I have this below script and need the output in excel in D:\Reports folder. Anyone can help me with this. I don't know much with queries and all the queries will have to be run as a job every night so please advice accordingly.

select (u.last_name + ', ' + u.first_name) as doctor, h.*

from hss_systems h

join user_names u on h.user_id=u.user_id

order by last_name

• espanolanthony (10/16/2012)

Hi,

I have this below script and need the output in excel in D:\Reports folder. Anyone can help me with this. I don't know much with queries and all the queries will have to be run as a job every night so please advice accordingly.

select (u.last_name + ', ' + u.first_name) as doctor, h.*

from hss_systems h

order by last_name

Use SQL Server Agent job to run the query every night.

And try BCP (xp_cmdshell BCP if using SSMS) to output to an Excel file.

• Thanks you but Since I have no knowledge I need the exact statements with bcp if you can please..

• sqlrd22 (10/16/2012)[hr

Use SQL Server Agent job to run the query every night.

And try BCP (xp_cmdshell BCP if using SSMS) to output to an Excel file.

BCP only does raw text files, so can send create a comma delimited file which Excel opens by default on most machines, but just making the extension .xls or .xlsx doesn't make it an excel document.

What i've done in the past is create an existing excel document with the proper headers and no rows.

then I've copied the file, opened the copy, and inserted data via openrowset.

If you are not going to use SSIS or a CLR, that's how i would do it.

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!