Multiple Client Design

• Hi all. I am a software developer designing a new web application for my company. This application is an extension of our currently existing software applications. Our database server is SQL Server 2005.

The architecture of our current system isolates the data for each one of our 100+ "clients" (all clients reside on the same database server). So there are 100+ client databases and 1 code repository database where the stored procedures reside. The majority of the code in our hundreds of stored procedures is dynamic SQL.

I would really like to get away from the dynamic SQL, I think it would improve the style and readability of our code, make debugging easier, improve performance, etc.

So, as I see it, I have three options for the new architecture:

1) I can maintain the current clients and code repository architecture.

2) I can isolate the data and maintain the stored procedures on the client database level (this seems impossible given the number of client databases).

3) I can depart from the notion of isolated clients and maintain all client's data and stored procedures in a single database.

The database would consist of a small number of tables. The two main informational tables would be populated by batch updates from the other system databases (so there would be infrequent batched inserts). I can estimate that monthly, 60000 records would be inserted. These records would be updated by the user application, but there would be no deleting or manual (non-batch) insertions. We haven't defined a flow for when / if these records would be removed, so the potential is that this database could grow fairly large.

I understand that my description is incredibly high-level, but any recommendations would be appreciated. If I decide to implement anything but the first option, I will have to make a strong case for it, as I'll be going against the norm.

Thanks!

Heidi