MS Access linking to SQL Server problem - could it be permissions???

• Hi,

My Access knowledge is limited so bear with me here.

One of our user groups uses Access as a front-end to our SQL Server warehouse. They come in via linked tables (with me so far? Good!).

They are having issues opening some of their Access queries in design mode - the machine was hanging. I went up to have a look, logged in as myself, opened the same query in design mode and it returned something immediately (OK, it returned an error but that's a completely different error, trust me ). The point is, it didn't hang the machine.

The only difference between myself and the users is that I am an administrator in SQL Server, they are not. (Admittedly there may be other differences, AD settings for example, but we're working on the assumption that its something to do with SQL at the moment).

I don't understand though why the difference in permissions would cause a problem just opening an Access query in design mode - surely Access already knows the metadata of the linked tables so it doesn't need to interrogate SQL Server. Just to prove this point I ran Profiler as I opened the Access query in design mode and sure enough, there was no interrogation of SQL Server.

So, could the different permission sets between myself and the users be causing the client machines to hang. And if so, why?

Also, is my assumption that Access already has all the metadata it needs in order to open a query in design mode a false assumption?

Any help very much appreciated.

Regards

Jamie

• Hi Jamie,

I don't have this kind of problem in my office but perhaps I can help you.

In Access you can re-link all the tables, did you try this before opening the query in design mode ?

I suppose the computer on which you are trying to open the Access query have the right ODBC connection to establish the link with your SQL server ?