Moving .mdf/.ldf files

• I am a university professor and dozens of times per semester receive and attach SQL Server 2005 DB files (.mdf and .ldf) from students. I copy their files to my hard drive, attach the files and examine them and sometimes run .Net applications against the files. When I finish with their DBs I detach them but keep the copy on my local drive for reference. The students are instructed to only use Windows Authentication when creating their DBs.

In Windows 2005 I must change the file ownership of the DB in order to create or view DB diagrams. Since this is a very important evaluation tool I have been changing ownership to sa routinely.

My problem is that once I make this change I can no longer move or copy the DB .mdf/.ldf files. If I have not needed to view a diagram I can move them easily. I need to archive this semester's materials but cannot move/copy many of the DB files. My Roxio CD program reports that the files are in use by another program. (At this point the DBs have been detached, SQL Server is stopped, Management Studio is not running, and in fact the computer has been restarted with the DB Engine set to start in manual mode.)

It also seems that once I've made these changes to the file, I can no longer attach them (logged in using Windows Authentication).

1. Does anyone know of a quick and easy way to release whatever file system lock SQL Server has placed on the files so I can move/copy them under Windows?

2. Can anyone point me to a technique that will allow me to view the Diagrams without locking up the files?

• Not sure about moving the diagrams. You should be able to see them as sa without issue. Maybe check the rights inside the db to see if something is weird.

You can get some utilities here (sysinternals): http://www.microsoft.com/technet/sysinternals/fileanddiskutilities.mspx?wt.svl=featured