Merge Rep over very small bandwidth

• I need some help with figuring out whether a task can be done or not.

My task:  set up merge replication between 1 publisher & 2 subscribers.  The 2 subscribers are in very remote locations, 1 of which is only available 11 hours out of the day.  Bandwidth is basically 56K (at best, usually runs around 28K).  Our biggest database is about 750MB, so we're not talking about anything huge here, and we have 4 databases that need to be replicated.

I am new to replication so have been reading the BOL.  I ran across a phrase that said something about compressing a publication before sending it out, but couldn't find any other references to this.  Anybody out there currently do this?  If so, could you point me to documentation that will tell me how to do this.

TIA,

Angela

• I believe they are talking about compression folders from the operating system level.

Kindest Regards,

• We had a lot of problems with Merge Replication over ISDN links. Admittedly there was a significant amount of updates going on but it still frequently 'failed to enumerate changes'. Playing around with the settings (such as switching off the referrential integrity checking at the more passive end and replicating more frequently to minimise the data transer) certainly helped but we still had problems up to and until a leased line was put in; when all went perfectly. 

From this we concluded that it was not so much the bandwidth as the nature of the connection. I am not a telecoms engineer but it appeared tha the ISDN was a lot flakier than a leased line.

HTH

David Saville

Aldex Software Ltd.