Limit results to current year

• I am extremely new to MDX and I am having real troubles getting started.  It is frustrating because there are so many things which I know the syntax for in TSQL, but can not figure out in MDX.

I have created a cube and want to build a KPI which basically shows sales results for this week.  In TSQL I'd add a where clause with something like:

where datepart(ww, sales_date) = datepart(ww, getdate()) and datepart(yy, sales_date) = datepart(yy, getdate())

That would limit my results to just this calander week.  I can't figure it out in MDX.  The cube does have a time dimension, cleverly called [Dim Time].

It doesn't help that I don't have a good MDX reference book either, so a recomendation wouldn't hurt.

cheers

• Sean,

If you are wanting the entire cube to just have 1 weeks worth of data I would suggest doing the folowing. I would recomend that the fact table you are using be a database view and you use the SQL code you usually do to limit the data there. This will have several benefits in that you are more experienced in SQL than MDX, the view can be changed much easier than a table and the amount of data you are loading into teh AS cube will be reduced which will improve performance.

As for MDX books my first port of call would be Amazon and read the reviews. I'm sure t6hat there are people out there that could stear you on a better path for books though.

• No, I do need all the data in the cube (not just this week), but I wanted the KPI to filter down to the current week.  It may well be that there are other ways of doing it from withing the KPI or reporting services.  The cube is actually being used for other things as well, I was just hoping to get this out of it too.

Currently I am using TSQL and loading the results into an excel table.  Then I am using Trusted Excel, and SharePoint KPIs to display it correctly.  But changing this is a lot of work because it involves trusted excel, SSIS, SharePoint, etc.

cheers