.ldf is getting huge and not sure what to do

• Okay, I'm a newbie to SQL. I have a physical log file that is 39 gig. Is there anyway to get this smaller. Based on what I've read so far, it looks like doing a dbcc shrinklog, NO_LOG, or Truncate_No will not make the physical file smaller, correct? I'm backing up the log files and the database on a regular basis, however the physical file is not shrinking.

Little help please?

• Seems to be a VERY popular subject lately! Check this other thread going on. It should help. Re-read Steve's comments in the first link after you've accomplished what you want to do.

http://qa.sqlservercentral.com/Forums/Topic470281-146-1.aspx

http://qa.sqlservercentral.com/Forums/Topic457658-357-1.aspx

-- You can't be late until you show up.

• Backing up the log TRUNCATES the log (meaning - it will remove transactions that have been committed -and if replication is in play, have replicated - so that the space can be reused), but it does NOT make the file smaller.

The logic is - if the file has needed to grow this big, it will need to do so again, so why shrink and grow over and over.

Check for open transactions, check your replication status, read the threads above.And if possible - DON't shrink.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Your lack of planning does not constitute an emergency on my part...unless you're my manager...or a director and above...or a really loud-spoken end-user..All right - what was my emergency again?