Joining on view with a group by or distinct causes slow query

• Hi,

I've been designing a query that links a phone_calls table to our asset system so that employees can see their mobile bills every month but it's running into some performance issues that are really slowing down the query and I'm hoping someone can explain the behavior for me as I'm still a relative newbie.

Basically we have something like the following tables/views:

VIEW - "asset_assignment" - Lists a start and end date that an employee had a phone_number

e.g. (asset_id (int), start_date (date), end_date (date), contact_id (int), handset_number (varchar)) (~1K rows)

TABLE - "phone_calls" - Lists every phone call made on a bill (~80K rows per bill)

e.g. (call_id (PK clustered int), bill_id (FK int), call_date (date), handset_number (varchar), number_dialled (varchar))

VIEW - "phone_numbers" - lists all phone numbers for entities on our system i.e. people, projects, organisations etc so we can join the number_dialled and see if the call was business (not null) or personal (null after join on this view) (~1K rows)

e.g. (phone_number (varchar), entity_id (int), entity_identifier (int))

So i have created a view "VW_Phone_Usage" to join all this up so i can have my pages produce different reports but one part of the joining is causing the execution times of a minimal query on the view from 1s to 8s which grows exponentially meaning a report can easily timeout.

The view is as follows (simplified version):

select

pu.*, -- I dont really do this but didn't want to type all the columns in

apn.*, -- same as above

ecm.* -- same as above

from phone_calls pu

join asset_assignment apn on pu.handset_number = apn.handset_number and pu.call_date between apn.start_date and apn.end_date

left outer join ( select phone_number

from phone_numbers

group by phone_number

) ecm on pu.number_dialled= ecm.phone_number