Join Syntax

• HI,

I wish to join two tables and produce a reult set that has all of the columns of each table. E.g.

table1 has columns A,B,C,D and table2 has columns A, E, F, G

How do I write the syntax that pulls all of the columns from each of the two tables?

thanks,

Paul

• i'm not sure if this is just a simple join question or if there's some underlying complexity that i'm missing altogether...paul...you can set me straight...

select t1.A, t1.B, t1.C, t1.D, t2.E, t2.F, t2.G from table1 t1

inner join

table2 t2

on t1.A = t2.A

edited....

**ASCII stupid question, get a stupid ANSI !!!**

• No complexity here !  I am just beginning sql queries and wanted to be sure of the correct syntax so that I can progress in the correct manner.

Just a  join of two tables.

I simply want to pull all the info from all the columns in table1 and table2 so that I can have one big result setwith the full contents of both tables.

Question: If I am selecting everything from one table and everything from another, why can't I do "select * from table1 then a join - select * from table2 - bad syntax or simply won't work. ?

Also, Forgive my beginnerness, but why do you have "on t1A = T2A" 

Is this the column(s) on which the join takes place ?

thanks Again.

Paul

thanks

• This will answer most of your basic questions :

http://www.w3schools.com/sql/default.asp

• remi's sent you a great link...

just want to answer your questions though -

you could do a select * - except you will get your column A repeated twice in this case since both your tables have this column and you don't want to look at more information than you need to/must!