Is This a good plan

• First thanks to all who will take the time to reply to my thread.

I am confused about a few things on SQL Server regarding backup and restoration plans. I am new to SQL server and can only really work with Enterprise Manger. I am unsure of .bak, .ldf, .trn files. The .bak is a full backup which contains all of your data up to the backup. When you run a full backup does it automatically update your transaction log? .trn's are all your data changes from the point of a differential. Differentials are data that has changed since your last full backup. Correct? But what is the log .ldf file, and how do you back that up with Enterprise manager

My plan is as follows;

hourly differential on database from 5 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. overwrite each hour.

every fifteen minutes a transaction log backup, delete if older than 1 hour

nightly full backup at 7:15 p.m.

Is this a good plan? what about my logs when should I back those up, should those go to tape backup? and how do I do schedule a job for them with Enterprise Manager?

I read in my book the following for restoring data;

first: most recent full database backup

Second: most recent differential backup

third transaction log backups sequestially from the one just ater most recent differential backup until most recent log backup

finally: active transaction log backup (if it was able to be backed up)

The item in red until most recent log backup confuses me, how and where do I back this up and how with Enterprise Manager do I do this.

If examples with syntax are given, please be gentle and give examples with the sample database below as that is one of my db's.

Sample database: BCT

Sample Backups: BCT_FULL.BAK, BCT_DIFF.BAK, BCT_TRANS.TRN

I apologize for the length of this thread, but I am uncertain of what I should do.

DLR 

• What version of SQL Server are you using?

For SQL Server 2000, the backup files for FULL, Differential, and Log files are all .bak. At least mine are.