Insert excel to SQL DB

• HI,

I am new in SSIS.

I have a task to import excel file to SQL DB automatically ( monthly) then create a report.

I am not really sure how do I import an excel file to SQL.

what I have done is to create SSIS.

1. create a bulk insert task to control flow

2. excell source

3. ole DB destination source

once I run it. I just don't know what I am doing wrong.

Please help me? or any other suggestion ?

thanks,

Susan

there are error messages as below:

Warning: 0x800470C8 at Data Flow Task, OLE DB Destination [130]: The external metadata column collection is out of synchronization with the data source columns. The column "InvoiceNo" needs to be updated in the external metadata column collection.

The column "Location" needs to be updated in the external metadata column collection.

The column "LocName" needs to be updated in the external metadata column collection.

Error: 0xC002F304 at Caltext Insert Task, Bulk Insert Task: An error occurred with the following error message: "Cannot bulk load because the file "\\msfile01\IT-Dept\Operations\IT - Projects\2008\OZC08008 - Caltex Reporting\Caltex September detail.xls" could not be opened. Operating system error code 5(error not found).".

Task failed: Caltext Insert Task

Warning: 0x80019002 at Package: SSIS Warning Code DTS_W_MAXIMUMERRORCOUNTREACHED. The Execution method succeeded, but the number of errors raised (1) reached the maximum allowed (1); resulting in failure. This occurs when the number of errors reaches the number specified in MaximumErrorCount. Change the MaximumErrorCount or fix the errors.

SSIS package "Package.dtsx" finished: Failure.

The program '[5976] Package.dtsx: DTS' has exited with code 0 (0x0).

• Does it fail when you run it as yourself or when it runs as the agent? If its when the agent runs it as a job make sure that the sql agent service account has access to the file path.

Also check that the file is not open anywhere else.