Indexing Problems

• I am quite new to indexes so bear with me if some things sound a little wrong.

I have two tables, tblLine and tblCall.

In tblCall, I have a clustered index on CALL_ID and a non-clustered index on ANUMBER. When I do a search on ANUMBER in this table it takes about a second (apx 6.2 million records in table).

What I want to do though is link the call table to the Line table and then do a search on SITE_FK (a field in tblLine). SITE_FK is a non-clusterd index, as is the corresponding ANUMBER field in the Line table. When I run the following query,

select site_fk, b.* from tblline a

inner join tblcall b

on a.anumber = b.anumber

where a.site_fk = 52

It takes nearly 47 seconds to retrieve the results. It is doing a Clustered Index Scan on tblCall, from my research I find this is similiar to scanning every line in the Call table. I would have thought it would find the ANUMBER for the SITE_FK and then do a bookmark lookup on that anumber.

Anyone got any ideas what i'm doing wrong.

Help much appreciated.

Paul

• Have you any indices on tblLine (on site_fk for example :-)?

How UNIQUE are the different sites in the tblLine? I.e how many DISTINCT site_fk's do you have compared to the total amount of rows in the table?

How does the query plan look like? Have you tried to force your query to use an index on site_fk in tblLine? If everything else fails and the density of column site_fk is rather low, try to do your join with(SELECT anumber FROM tblLine). Ex:

SELECT 52, b.*

FROM (SELECT anumber FROM tblLine WHERE site_fk = 52) a

INNER JOIN

tblcall b

ON a.anumber = b.anumber

Otherwise, please ask more 🙂

Regards, Hans!

Edited by - HansLindgren on 07/09/2003 3:07:01 PM